Petrucci Music Library (IMSLP)


The Library of the School of Music Studies of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki in collaboration with the International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) shares online the European content version of the Petrucci Music Library.

The Petrucci Music Library(after publisher Ottaviano Petrucci) is a project for the creation of a virtual library of public domain music scores. Since its launch on February 16, 2006, over 258.000 scores and 23.000 recordings for over 73.000 works by 7.000 composers have been uploaded (December 2013). Among others, the Petrucci Music Library includes the complete works of Johann Sebastian Bach in the Bach-Gesellschaft Ausgabe (1851-99), all of Beethoven’s, Brahms’s, Chopin’s, Debussy’s, Handel’s, Palestrina’s, Ravel’s, Schubert’s, Scriabin’s, Sibelius’s and a large percentage of Mozart’s, List’s and others.

The European content version includes either digital content of old musical editions out of copyright in Europe or scores by contemporary composers under a Creative Commons license.

Browse by composer
Search by melody
Browse by instrumentation or genre
Browse recordings by composer

The Petrucci Digital Library mirror server is maintained and supported by the School of Music StudiesFaculty of Fine ArtsAristotle University of Thessaloniki since September 2011. The server is hosted at the cloud infrastructure of the The IT Center of Aristotle University of Thessaloniki.

Among other features, the server support the IPv6 protocol (Internet Protocol version 6) and provides access to the library content to users of the IPv6 internet.